Like us on Facebook Find us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Send us an Email Call Us
Black Hills Symphony Orchestra Instrument


Something Wicked this way comes

A Baroque Christmas in Dulci Jubilo

December 2, 2017 7:30
Rapid City Performing Arts Center


Rejoice with the Baroque Masters!
With Dakota Choral Union’s Kantorei.

Get tickets at
or call 605-394-1786






Sponsored by Black Hills Symphony League

Bruce Knowles, Conductor

Featured Guest Artists: Dakota Choral Union’s Kantorei, Choral Director – Dr. Jonathan Nero

Sinfonia Al Santo Sepulcro in B Minor, RV 169 - Antonio Vivaldi

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F Major, BWV 1047 - Johann Sebastian Bach
1. Allegro       2. Andante       3. Allegro assai
Solos: Flute- Julie Anderson, Oboe – Nancy Olney, Trumpet – Christopher Hahn, Violin – Carol Knowles

Darzu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes, BWV 40 - Johann Sebastian Bach
Chorus – Kantorei, Soloists- TBA,
Chorus prepared by Dr. Jonathan Nero
1. Chorus: Darzu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes
2. Recitative (tenor): Das Wort ward Fleisch
3. Chorale: Die Sünd macht Leid
4. Aria (bass): Höllische Schlange, wird dir nicht bange?
5. Recitative (alto): Die Schlange, so im Paradies
6. Chorale: Schüttle deinen Kopf und sprich
7. Aria (tenor): Christenkinder, freuet euch!
8. Chorale: Jesu, nimm dich deiner Glieder


Bethelehem Down – Peter Warlock/arr. Phillip Lane

Ancient Airs and Dances Suite 3 – Ottorino Respighi
1. Italiana (Anon)       2. Arie de corte (Jean-Baptiste Besard)
3. Siciliana (Anon)       4. Passacaglia ( Ludovico)

Prayer of St Gregory – Alan Hovhaness
Soloist: Trumpet – Christopher HahnConcerto grosso in G minor, Op 6, No 8 “Fatto per la note di Natale” - Arcangelo Corelli
Chorus- Kantorei, Soloists – TBA, Prepared by Dr. Jonathan Nero
1. Vivace – grave       2. Allegro       3. Adagio – Allegro – Adagio       4. Vivace       5. Allegro – Largo Pastorale ad libitum

Program Notes

Brandenburg Concerto, No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
Johann Sebastian Bach
March 31, 1685 – September 20, 1757

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos are a collection of six instrumental pieces compiled and gifted to Christian Ludwig, Margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt. The pieces had been composed earlier (and nowhere near Brandenburg,) but Bach copied and inscribed the collection possibly as a job application. Unfortunately, the Margrave could not afford to produce these excellent works, and Bach did not get hired. The score remained in the Margrave’s library until his death. They were later discovered and published in 1849. James Reel writes: “The Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 may have been one of the last to be written, and it certainly seems like a special-occasion piece. It’s a concerto featuring four prominent instruments -- trumpet, recorder, oboe, and violin -- against a foundation of strings and continuo. The writing is virtuosic and brilliant”.

Cantata No. 40 Darzu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes, BWV 40
Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata 40 is the first Christmas cantata J.S Bach composed during his years as Cantor in Leipzig, Germany. It was first performed on 26 December for St. Stephen’s Day. The joyful (and slightly militaristic) style reflects the cantata’s theme that, with the birth of Jesus, the battle with the devil (the old serpent) had been joined, and victory would come.

Ancient Airs and Dances Suite 3 strong> Ottorino Respighi
July 9, 1879 – April 18, 1936

Italian composer, violinist and noted musicologist, Ottorino Respighi learned violin and music theory from his demanding piano-teacher father. He went on to perform as first violin for the Russian Imperial Theater in St Petersburg, where he studied composition with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. He returned to his beloved Italy and continued his composition studies, while performing with the Mugellini Quintet. Respighi’s interest in Baroque-era Italian music led him to compose his series of Ancient Airs and Dances (Antiche arie e danze,) based on lute pieces.

Concerto grosso in G minor, Op 6, No 8 “Fatto per la note di Natale”
Arcangelo Corelli
February 17, 1653 – January 8, 1713

Italian composer, Arcangelo Corelli is known chiefly for his influence on violin music, his sonatas, and his 12 Concerti grosso. An accomplished violinist, Corelli is often credited with creating the fundamentals of modern string playing and the singing lyricism and beautiful tone we associate with the violin today. Correlli did not invent the Concerto grosso, but he did write the first significant compositions in the genre, influencing generations of later composers including Vivaldi, Bach and Handel. His Concerto grosso in G minor, Op 6, No 8 is commonly known as the Christmas Concerto. It was commissioned by Cardinal Pietro Ottoboni, and bears the inscription “fatto per la note di Natale” which translates as “made for Christmas night.”


Partial support by